Yuka's recent posts

Posts0Likes0Joined20/9/2019LocationAdelaide / AU
Native
Japanese
Learning English

I am curious about common grammatical mistakes made by English native speakers.

I only know that some native speakers confuse "look forward to doing" with "look forward to do".

Are there any other common mistakes that native speakers tend to make or you have encountered? 

Posted

Yuka.C

Native
Japanese
Learning English

I am a native Japanese having learned Mandarin and English. I learned Mandarin at a very young age when I lived in China. The earlier you learn the language, the easier it would be to learn it. Even after more than 15 years since I was actually immersed in Mandarin-speaking environment, the comprehension level of Mandarin is good enough to understand native speakers. 

I started learning English on the 1st year of secondary school and mainly learned it to pass an enrolment exam for University. As you may know, most Japanese do not speak fluent English even after learning it for at least 5 years at school. Without exception, I was also the one who was bad at speaking English. Many Japanese people feel that English is not an easy language to master for them as these two languages have by far different grammatical structure and pronunciation. Through studying abroad, and working in an English-speaking environment, I gradually have been improving my English speaking ability. However, I think it will take another 5 years to reach C2 level. 

Posted

Yuka.C

Native
Japanese
Learning English

Thank you for giving me an exact answer for this question! I would like to ask you one more question relating to Spanish language. Do Spanish speakers understand different Spanish spoken in South American countries? One of my Chilean friends told me that Chilean Spanish is by far different from original Spanish. Do you understand what Chilean people say perfectly? 

Edited

Yuka.C

Native
Japanese
Learning English