The value of mistakes

Posts0Likes0Joined19/9/2019LocationSão Paulo / BR
Native
Portuguese
Learning English, French, Italian, Spanish

I've been a teacher of English, Portuguese and History for 27 years. Actually, I used to play being a teacher when I was a kid and helped many of my friends to learn writing, or to get better grades at school. After all those years, I've got more and more convinced that mistakes are the greatest opportunity to learn anything. As a teacher, when I spot a mistake, it helps me understand how the students mind is operating. As an eternal student, when I get aware of a mistake, I feel I climbed one more step. Sometimes I realize it had been on my face, but I was totally blinded, and that's a definite change. Let's not see mistakes as failures! They're the very core of learning!

Posted 
Posts18Likes12Joined16/10/2019LocationUS
Native
Danish, English
Learning Chinese - Mandarin, French, German, Macedonian, Norwegian, Spanish

That is awesome! I totally agree! Failure is good! that is a sign of progression. Not making mistakes is a failure. That just mean that a person will never learn the thing. And also as toddlers we failed thousands of times before we learned how to walk. Failure is success in disguise! :) And also research show that correcting "mistakes" dosent facilitate learning and is redundant and wont stick. But enough exposure to the correct way of saying the expression is how our brain naturally picks up on the mistakes and over time the "mistakes" ratio will be substantially reduced, effortlessly.

Posted 
Posts1630Likes1092Joined18/3/2018LocationBellingham / US
Native
English
Learning German
Other Chinese - Mandarin, French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai

I think of mistakes as unavoidable side effects of learning. However I think statements like the following, which are quite popular these days for some reason, can actually encourage people to attempt to make mistakes: