How are you learning a new language and how long have it take?

Posts230Likes123Joined16/9/2018Location
Native
Spanish
Other English, Italian

Hello, I am very curious to know what have work the best for you to learn a new language. Do you use a tutor, software, a book. Have you been able to learn several languages at the same time. Please share your experiences with me.

For me I have studied English since I was in kindergarten, because my school was a bilingual school. Half of the hours were in Spanish the other half in English. I learned a lot of vocabulary and Spelling but it wasn't until I came to the US that I began to practice speaking and pronunciation. I still struggle with my grammar the most.

-Ari-

Posted 
Posts0Likes0Joined22/9/2018LocationLagos / NG
Native
English
Other French

Hi,

I've experienced the same thing in my quest to learn French. I studied it in my high school and I although I had basic knowledge, I feel like a complete novice about the language. 

In Nigeria, everyone speaks English or pidgin or a native language. French is very rare and so until I get to a French speaking country, I may just only know the written French and not the spoken French.

If I was to choose being an animal, I will like to be an Eagle.

Posted 
Posts1630Likes1092Joined18/3/2018LocationBellingham / US
Native
English
Learning German
Other Chinese - Mandarin, French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai

Smartchiny wrote:
until I get to a French speaking country, I may just only know the written French and not the spoken French.

Why? It's quite possible to learn the language on your own, and take conversation lessons online, or just do free language exchanges with native speakers if you want. This site is designed to help people do that. There is a place for language exchange (Chat), and teachers you could hire. There are other free tools too, so it's not a requirement to live in the country of the language anymore.