A foreign language as a requirement?

Do you think that it should be a requirement to know at least one foreign language to get into the university?

25%

41.7%

33.3%

This poll will run forever.

Posts0Likes0Joined4/9/2018LocationCaracas / VE
Native
Spanish
Learning German, Italian
Other English

It's not a surprise to see how globalization brings together different cultures, but what about education? At least in my country, you have to pass a proficiency test in English to opt for a postgraduate, master or doctorate degree. Is there a requirement like this in your country? 

Posted 
Posts1630Likes1092Joined18/3/2018LocationBellingham / US
Native
English
Learning German
Other Chinese - Mandarin, French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai

It's a requirement in the US to have taken a certain number of hours in a foreign language to get into a university, but I think it's a pretty silly requirement. For example, I was an engineer. Knowing foreign languages didn't directly help my career at all, and shouldn't have been a requirement imo. Don't get me wrong, I love languages and think one should learn at least one to be well-rounded, but nobody needs to be forced into it. 

In Thailand now. Next up Tanzania and Philippines.

Posted 
Posts0Likes0Joined5/6/2018LocationLapu-lapu / PH
Native
Cebuano, Tagalog
Other English

Yes, particularly English because it's a medium of instruction to get into the university here in my country. But for other languages, I believed it must be optional.

Charlyn Amoin

Edited 
Posts0Likes0Joined8/10/2018LocationCebu / PH
Native
Cebuano, English, Tagalog
Learning French, Japanese, Spanish

I don't think so if it doesn't directly relate to the course/major one is studying- like what Leo stated as an example. Unless, if that student plans to pursue his/her studies in a foreign country.

Everyday is a learning journey. Keep going!

Posted 
Posts0Likes0Joined6/10/2018LocationJonestown / US
Native
English